For: people who hold or held a Bithumb account, and Bithumb employees. The report is based on Korean press coverage of Bithumb's announcement, and does not cover attack techniques.
Developing: this article will be updated as the organisation publishes more
As of October 30, 2026Not yet known
- How the unauthorized access was obtained
- Whether the count (844 customers, 715 employees) changes
- Whether any misuse occurs (going forward)
- Findings of the authorities
According to the reports, Bithumb is running security inspections and patches with the developer of the service, and will provide relief and compensation if secondary damage is confirmed. Bithumb's own notice returned an access error (HTTP 403) when we checked, so the numbers and items here are based on three Korean outlets that agree on them (Asia Economy, Hankook Ilbo, EBN). Financial News and Segye Ilbo are used only for the early stage. We found no follow-up announcement on October 30.
What customers should do today
Check whether you were affected
Bithumb posted a notice on its website and, according to reports, is contacting affected customers individually in sequence from the afternoon of October 29, 2026. The notice lets customers check whether their information was exposed. Open Bithumb's site or app yourself and use that page, not a link in a message.
Treat messages that quote your details as suspect
Name, mobile number, email address and account number together are enough to make a convincing fake. A call, text or email about "confirming the leak", "compensation" or "account verification" can be fake even if the details are correct. Do not use its links or phone numbers. Open the official app or site yourself. Never read out a one-time code, password or recovery phrase, and note that a real company will not ask for them. EBN's report of Bithumb's notice says the same: ignore calls or messages claiming to be Bithumb staff that ask for verification codes or push you to install an app, and report problems only through the official call center.
If your ID number or ID copy may be involved
The reports say the exposed items include resident registration number, driver's license number and ID card copies, depending on the customer. These can be used to pose as the holder.
- Do not send your ID or a copy again to anyone who contacts you first
- Watch for unfamiliar sign-up, loan or phone-contract notices in your name
- See what to do when a driver's license number or copy is leaked for the general steps. The details for resident registration numbers follow the guidance of Korean authorities (we have not confirmed an official procedure for this incident)
Tighten your account protection
Bithumb says the exchange accounts were not directly breached. These steps are a sensible precaution (this site's recommendation).
- Turn on two-step verification and a withdrawal address allowlist if the exchange offers them
- Use a password that you use nowhere else, kept in a password manager
- Check your recent sign-ins and withdrawals for anything you do not recognise
Employees
715 employees were also affected according to the reports. Follow the company's internal notice.
6,444 customers' records
Held in the internal mobile groupware
↓
5,600: DRM-encrypted
Could not be read from outside; not exposed
844: personal data exposed
Items vary by customer
715 employees
Also affected
The figures are from the reports (5,600 + 844 = 6,444).
What happened (according to Bithumb's announcement as reported)
Bithumb's own notice returned HTTP 403 when we checked on October 30. The following is from Korean press reports of its announcement on October 29, 2026 (Asia Economy, Hankook Ilbo and EBN). In the early stage, Financial News (October 28) reported that Bithumb was checking possible member data, and Segye Ilbo (October 29) that employee information was reported first and customer information was found later.
Oct 27, 2026, 11:28 to 12:27 (KST)
Per the reports, the period in which the abnormal access to the internal mobile groupware took placeOct 27, 12:14
Bithumb first noticed the abnormal access, blocked the access path and stopped using the groupwareOct 27 to 28
Bithumb notified the authorities, including the Korea Internet & Security Agency and the Personal Information Protection Commission, and first said employee information was involvedOct 29
Bithumb announced that customer personal data was also exposed (844 customers), posted a notice and began notifying affected customers
- System
- An internal mobile groupware system, which Bithumb says is separate from exchange accounts and customer asset information
- Items exposed (varies by customer)
- Name, mobile number, email address, resident registration number, driver's license number, account number, ID card copies
- Not exposed
- 5,600 of 6,444 customers' records were DRM-encrypted files that could not be accessed from outside
- Exchange and assets
- No direct intrusion into the exchange service or customer database has been confirmed, and no customer asset loss was reported
- Response
- Bithumb blocked the access path, stopped using the groupware, is running inspections and patches with the developer, and reported to the authorities
- Compensation
- Bithumb's CEO apologised and said the company will provide relief and compensation if secondary damage is confirmed
What is known and what is not
Status as of October 30, 2026. We will update this table as more is published.
| Item | What was announced (as reported) | Status |
|---|---|---|
| Unauthorized access to the internal mobile groupware | Found on Oct 27; path blocked | Announced (company) |
| Customers whose data was exposed | 844 | Announced (company, via reports) |
| Total customer records involved | 6,444, of which 5,600 were encrypted and not readable from outside | Announced (company, via reports) |
| Employees affected | 715 | Reported |
| Name, phone, email, resident registration number, license number, account number, ID copies | Included, varies by customer | Exposed (company, via reports) |
| Exchange service, customer database, customer assets | No direct intrusion confirmed; no asset loss reported | Not confirmed (company) |
| Passwords | Not listed among the items | Not stated |
| Misuse | None announced | Not stated |
| How the access was obtained | Not published | Under investigation |
| Authorities' findings | Not published | Not stated |
Note: the figures come from press reports
We could not open Bithumb's own notice (HTTP 403), so the numbers and items are those that Korean outlets reported from Bithumb's announcement. We have not added to them or guessed at the cause. If Bithumb's notice differs, we will correct this page.
What these items could be used for
The following is what can generally happen with this combination of items. Bithumb has not announced that any of it has happened.
- Name + mobile number + email address: material for convincing fake calls, texts and emails posing as the exchange or an authority
- Account number + name: material for messages posing as a refund, compensation or account check
- Resident registration number, driver's license number, ID copy: material for posing as the holder, for example in a fake sign-up or a request to "verify" an identity. A number or copy alone does not move assets held at the exchange. In this site's view, it could also be used to make a request to reset an account look genuine (a general point; nothing like this has been announced)
- Most of this can be prevented by not using the links or numbers in a message, by never sharing a one-time code or password, and by turning on two-step verification
What operators should review
The method of access has not been published, so this section covers only what can be said from the announcement.
- Which personal data sits in internal work tools: the exposed data was in a groupware system separate from the exchange. Check which ID documents and account details are kept in such tools, for how long, and who can open them
- Encryption of files: according to the reports, 5,600 of 6,444 records were in DRM-encrypted files that could not be read from outside. File-level protection limited the exposure
- Detection to notification: the reported access window was about an hour and the access was noticed within it. Check that the time from detection to blocking and to reporting to the authorities is rehearsed
Sources (public records)
The facts in this article are based on the public information below. Bithumb's own notice returned HTTP 403 when we checked on October 30, 2026. We have not guessed at the cause.
- Asia Economy, report on the personal data of 844 Bithumb customers exposed through its internal system (Korean, October 29, 2026, checked October 30) — view.asiae.co.kr
- Hankook Ilbo, report on the Bithumb customer data exposure (Korean, October 29, 2026, checked October 30) — hankookilbo.com
- EBN, report on the Bithumb personal data incident and the company's cautions (Korean, October 29, 2026, checked October 30) — ebn.co.kr
- Segye Ilbo, early-stage report on the Bithumb customer information leak (Korean, October 29, 2026, checked October 30) — segye.com
- Financial News, first report on intrusions at Bithumb and other financial firms (Korean, October 28, 2026, checked October 30) — fnnews.com
Update history
2026-10-30: First version, based on Korean press reports of Bithumb's announcements of October 28 and 29 (checked October 30; no follow-up found). We will update when the cause, any change in the numbers, or the authorities' findings are announced.
Read next
- The same item pattern (ID documents): What to do when a driver's license number or copy is leaked
- Other Korean incidents: Data breaches at Korean banks in 2026
- Scam messages: What is phishing?
- Protecting your accounts: Choosing multi-factor authentication / Choosing a password manager
- Other 2026 incidents: Data breaches and cyberattacks in 2026 (Japan and worldwide)