Security Guides
Recruit Carsensor.net and C-MATCH Breach (Up to 3,709,551 Records): Names and Addresses of People Who Contacted Dealers May Be Exposed — What Users and Dealers Should Do
Recruit announced on October 21, 2026 that unauthorized access to Carsensor.net and C-MATCH may have leaked up to 3,709,551 records, mainly names and addresses of people who contacted used-car dealers, plus dealer login IDs. Who is affected and what to do.
For: anyone who has contacted a used-car dealer or posted a review through Carsensor.net (including the app), dealers using C-MATCH, and anyone who runs a service that passes customer inquiries on to business partners. This article is based on the official notice from Recruit Co., Ltd., the Japanese company that runs Carsensor, and does not cover attack techniques.
Developing: this article will be updated as the organisation publishes more
As of 13:30 JST, October 22, 2026Not yet known
- Whether any data actually leaked (the notice says "may have leaked")
- Details of the cause and the route (under investigation)
- How and when affected people will be contacted individually (post, email or otherwise)
- How many people the record count represents
- How many sole-proprietor dealers' bank account records are affected
- Whether the police have been consulted or notified (not mentioned)
The company says the cause and the full scope are under investigation. The Carsensor.net notice as of October 19 said the company would announce on each service's website when a resumption date was in sight, and would promptly report any facts that should be announced as the investigation proceeds.
On October 22 the top-page notice on Carsensor.net was replaced by "Notes and requests on the resumption of Carsensor.net services". It says services have been resuming in stages from around 13:00 on October 22, starting with the services and functions whose safety has been confirmed. Changes to stock and prices made during the suspension may not yet be reflected in listings, so it asks people to check directly with the dealer before visiting or signing a contract. Replies to inquiries sent to dealers before the suspension may also be delayed.
No timing for a follow-up is given. As of October 22, no follow-up had appeared in the company's press release list.
Check whether you are affected
The notice covers the four groups below. The counts are the maximum the company identified, and they are counts of records, not of people.
| Group (according to the company) | Records | Items |
|---|---|---|
| People who contacted a used-car dealer through Carsensor.net (including the app) | 3,210,421 | Name and address (3,176,375) / name, address, inquiry content, age band, gender (33,247) / name, address, inquiry content, phone number, fax number, email address (799) |
| People who posted reviews on Carsensor.net (including the app) | 5,289 | Name (5,285) / name and email address (4) |
| Used-car dealers registered with C-MATCH | 483,168 | Names and phone numbers of representatives and staff; secondhand dealer licence number, licence holder's name and issuing prefecture; login ID. For sole proprietors, also office or counter address, postcode, phone number, fax number and direct-debit bank account information |
| Company employees (including former employees), staff or sole proprietors of current or former contractors, and staff of current or former sales agents | 10,673 | Name, email address, login ID |
| Total | Up to 3,709,551 | Every group also includes an internal management ID assigned by the company |
According to the company, the "address" of people who contacted dealers is in principle only down to the city or municipality. However, up to 447,670 records may include a full address down to the street number, building name and room number.
People who only browsed cars on the site or app are not listed. The company says it will contact affected people individually in turn, but does not say how.
What people who contacted dealers or posted reviews should do today
Do not open links or attachments in unexpected letters, emails or texts
The company warns that suspicious contacts misusing the data may arrive, and asks people not to open emails, text messages or letters or answer calls, not to open links in them, and not to open attachments.
Most of the records contain only name and address, so correctly addressed letters deserve more caution than emails or phone calls. The basics of spotting fakes are in what phishing is.
Check any offer of compensation or a refund through the notice page
The company says it will contact affected people individually in turn. That means genuine and fake contacts will arrive around the same time.
Even if a letter or email offers "compensation for the incident", a "refund" or a "reward for a survey" (examples from this site), do not use the phone numbers, URLs or QR codes in it. Open Recruit's notice page yourself through a search and follow the contact listed there.
Do not respond to contacts that mention the car you asked about
Inquiry content is included in 33,247 and 799 of the records. In general, a contact that names the model or the dealer you asked about looks convincing.
Even if a contact claims to be the dealer, knowing what you asked about proves nothing. Do not answer on the spot; look up the dealer's number yourself and call back.
If you reuse your password, make it different
The company says login passwords are not included and has not asked anyone to change passwords.
Separately, if you use the same password on several services, this is a good time to make them different. This is general advice from this site, not guidance from the company. A password manager helps keep track.
If you have already given details or paid, contact the desk and the police
Send questions to the dedicated inquiry desk listed on the notice page (an email inquiry through Recruit's help page).
If you paid money or gave card details after a suspicious contact, also contact your card company or bank, and the police consultation line (#9110 in Japan).
What dealers using C-MATCH should do
Watch for re-login requests from someone who knows your login ID
The dealer items include the names and phone numbers of representatives and staff, and login IDs. The company says login passwords are not included.
In general, a login ID plus a staff name makes it possible to create fake contacts asking for a password while posing as the service operator. If you receive a contact about "logging in again after the service resumes" or "checking your account" (examples from this site), do not enter anything through its links; open the service from a bookmark or official guidance.
Sole proprietors: watch for contacts about the direct-debit account
For sole proprietors, direct-debit bank account information is also listed. The Japanese Bankers Association warns about people who pose as bank staff to get account details or PINs (a general warning, not one about this incident).
If you receive a contact saying "a debit failed" or "your account needs checking", do not use the numbers or URLs in it; check with your bank or the company's official contact yourself. If you see a debit you do not recognise, contact your bank straight away. How to think about leaked bank details is also covered in the Lashinbang article.
Tell staff that fake contacts may use their names
Staff names and phone numbers are among the items. In general, a call or email that names a member of staff tends to be treated as genuine inside a business.
Agree within the business that if a contact claiming to be C-MATCH or Carsensor asks to change payment details or for login information, staff will not act on it straight away and will check through another route.
What happened (according to Recruit)
Recruit Co., Ltd. published "Apology and notice regarding personal data leakage due to unauthorized access to Carsensor.net and C-MATCH" on October 21, 2026. Everything below is based on that notice and the notice on Carsensor.net.
October 17, 2026 (Sat)
Suspicious access from outside to Carsensor.net-related systems was detected. From around 17:00 that day, all services related to Carsensor.net, including Carsensor.net, the Carsensor app and C-MATCH, were suspended.October 20 (Tue)
The investigation identified the items and the number (maximum) of personal data records that may have leaked through unauthorized access from outside.October 21 (Wed)
The notice was published. The company says it has already filed a preliminary report with the Personal Information Protection Commission. A dedicated inquiry desk was set up.October 22 (Thu)
From around 13:00, services and functions whose safety has been confirmed began resuming in stages. The Carsensor.net notice was replaced by one on the resumption of services.
The notice does not say when the unauthorized access began. October 17 is when the company detected the suspicious access.
- Operator
- Recruit Co., Ltd.
- Services covered
- Carsensor.net, a used-car listings site (including the app); C-MATCH, a business support service for used-car dealers
- Count
- Up to 3,709,551 records (records that may have leaked)
- Items
- As in the table above. Every group includes an internal management ID assigned by the company
- Not included
- Payment data such as credit cards, and login passwords (all groups)
- Cause
- Unauthorized access by a third party. Details of the cause and scope are under investigation
- Report to the regulator
- Preliminary report filed with the Personal Information Protection Commission
- Contact to affected people
- Individual contact in turn. People who cannot be reached are informed through the notice and can use the inquiry desk
- Secondary harm
- None confirmed within what the company knew as of October 21
- Prevention
- The company says it will establish the cause and consider and implement further measures as a group. No specifics are given
- Contact
- The dedicated inquiry desk listed in the notice (a Recruit help page; inquiries by email)
What is known and what is not
Status as of October 22, 2026. When a follow-up is published, the status column will be updated.
| Item | What the notice says | Status |
|---|---|---|
| Detection and suspension | Suspicious access detected on October 17; all related services suspended from around 17:00 that day | Confirmed (company) |
| Cause | Unauthorized access by a third party; details under investigation | Confirmed (company) / details under investigation |
| Count | Up to 3,709,551 records (records, not people) | Possible (company) |
| Names and addresses of people who contacted dealers | 3,210,421 records; addresses in principle only to city level (up to 447,670 may include full addresses) | Possible (company) |
| Inquiry content, age band, gender, phone, email | Part of the people who contacted dealers (33,247 and 799 records) | Possible (company) |
| Dealer staff details and login IDs | 483,168 records | Possible (company) |
| Sole-proprietor dealers' direct-debit account information | Included (count not given) | Possible (company) |
| Names, emails and login IDs of employees and contractor staff | 10,673 records | Possible (company) |
| Payment data such as credit cards | Not included | Not included (company) |
| Login passwords | Not included | Not included (company) |
| When the access began and the route | Not stated | Not mentioned |
| Misuse of the data | No secondary harm confirmed as of October 21 | Not confirmed (company) |
| Individual contact to affected people | Contact in turn (method not stated) | In progress (company) |
| Report to the Personal Information Protection Commission | Preliminary report filed | Confirmed (company) |
| Police consultation or report | Not stated | Not mentioned |
| Service resumption | Resuming in stages from around 13:00 on October 22, starting with services and functions confirmed safe | Resuming in stages |
| Listings and inquiry replies after the suspension | Changes to stock and prices may not yet be reflected; replies to inquiries made before the suspension may be delayed | Caution from the company |
How to read this: possible versus not included
The counts and items are data that "may have leaked". It has not been confirmed that all 3,709,551 records leaked. Nor has it been confirmed that they did not.
Only payment data such as credit cards and login passwords are stated as not included. The counts are also not numbers of people; the notice does not say how a person who contacted several dealers was counted.
What the combination of items could be used for
The following is what can happen in general; it does not mean it has happened in this case. The company says no secondary harm had been confirmed as of October 21.
Name + address (people who contacted dealers)
↓→
Correctly addressed letters offering compensation, refunds or surveys
→ Do not use enclosed numbers or QR codes; check on the notice page
Name + address + inquiry content
↓→
Contacts posing as a dealer and mentioning the car you asked about
→ Knowing the details is not proof / call back on a number you look up
Staff name + phone + login ID (dealers)
↓→
Contacts posing as the operator, asking for a password or a change of payment details
→ Do not enter anything via links / check through another route
Stated as not included in the notice
- Payment data such as credit cards
- Login passwords
Items that may have leaked (according to the company)
- Name and address (not easy to change)
- Inquiry content, age band, gender (some records)
- Phone number and email address (some records)
- Dealer login IDs and licence numbers; sole proprietors' direct-debit account information
Addresses stay the same for a long time, so in general they can be used for contacts under other pretexts long afterwards. Stay alert to contacts that mention this incident for a while.
In a past case, the October 2026 Bookoff member data leak, the first report's "up to about 6.43 million records (member numbers)" was confirmed in the second report as a number of people (6,383,279). That may not happen this time.
For those who run services that pass customer inquiries to business partners
The company has not disclosed the details of the cause, so this article does not say how to prevent it. This section does not assess the company's response. What the notice does say is that data on four quite different groups (people who made inquiries, partner dealers, and the company's own and contractors' staff) was affected in a single incident, and that although addresses were "in principle only to city level", a sizeable number may include full addresses. The points below are limited to what can be reviewed in advance on that basis.
Measure the gap between the rule and the data actually stored
The company said addresses of people who contacted dealers are in principle only to city level, while giving up to 447,670 records that may include a street-level address.
In general, even if a form is designed to collect only the city, free-text fields and older data formats can hold more detail than the design intends. Checking stored items against the actual data rather than the design documents lets you state quickly and accurately what is in scope if a leak happens.
List which groups' data each system holds
Data on users, partners, employees and contractors each has a different purpose and retention need. In general, related systems built around one service tend to collect a little of each.
For each system, list which groups' data it holds, which items, and for how long, and decide whether inquiries that have already been passed on can be removed from day-to-day screens. If groups and items are kept separate, it is easier to answer "am I affected?" on the day of an incident.
Decide in advance how you will contact people and how they can spot fakes
Most people in scope here have only a name and address on record, not an email address or phone number. In general, the ways to reach such people individually are limited, and genuine and fake contacts arrive around the same time.
Before an incident happens, decide which channels and senders you use for important notices and what you will never ask for, and publish them on your official website. That helps people tell real from fake. For email sender spoofing protection, see SPF, DKIM and DMARC against spoofed email.
Sources (public record)
The facts in this article are based on the public information below. The undisclosed details of the cause and route of access have not been guessed at.
- Recruit Co., Ltd., "Apology and notice regarding personal data leakage due to unauthorized access to Carsensor.net and C-MATCH" (Japanese, October 21, 2026) — recruit.co.jp (PDF: recruit.co.jp)
- Recruit Co., Ltd., "About unauthorized access to Carsensor.net" (inquiry desk page, Japanese, updated October 21, 2026) — recruit-help.jp
- Carsensor.net, "Notes and requests on the resumption of Carsensor.net services" (top-page notice, Japanese, updated October 22, 2026) — carsensor.net
- Recruit Co., Ltd. press release list (checked October 22, 2026; no follow-up on this incident) — recruit.co.jp
- Japanese Bankers Association, "Beware of fake Japanese Bankers Association websites" (Japanese; a general warning) — zenginkyo.or.jp
Update history
2026-10-22 (13:30 JST): Added the stage-by-stage resumption of services from around 13:00 on October 22 and the updated Carsensor.net notice (cautions on listings and inquiry replies). Corrected the description of the employee and contractor group to match the notice.
2026-10-22: First version, based on Recruit's notice of October 21, the Carsensor.net notice and the company's press release list (checked October 22). The details of the cause and scope are under investigation; this article will be updated when a follow-up is published.
Read next
- Incidents from the same period: NIFTY line application system breach / H2O ID data breach
- Protecting yourself from follow-on scams: What phishing is / Smartphone security basics
- Passwords: Choosing and using a password manager / How to check whether your password leaked
- Another car-related service: Cariteco (Meitetsu Kyosho) ransomware incident
- Other 2026 incidents: Data breaches and cyberattacks list
FAQ
QWhat leaked from Carsensor?
According to Recruit Co., Ltd.'s notice of October 21, 2026, up to 3,709,551 records of personal data may have leaked. The largest group is 3,210,421 records on people who contacted used-car dealers through Carsensor.net (including the app), of which 3,176,375 contain name and address. The rest cover the names and other details of people who posted reviews, the staff names, phone numbers and login IDs of dealers registered with C-MATCH, and the names, email addresses and login IDs of employees of the company and its business partners. All of these are described as data that may have leaked; no confirmed leak has been announced.
QAm I affected?
According to the notice, the scope covers people who contacted dealers through Carsensor.net (including the app), people who posted reviews, dealers registered with C-MATCH, the company's employees (including former employees), staff or sole proprietors of current or former contractors, and staff of current or former sales agents. People who only browsed the site are not listed. The company says it will contact affected people individually in turn, but does not say how (post, email or otherwise). If you are unsure, check with the dedicated inquiry desk listed on the notice page.
QAre passwords or credit cards affected?
The company says none of the groups' data includes payment data such as credit cards, or login passwords. It has not asked anyone to change passwords. However, for dealers registered with C-MATCH who are sole proprietors, direct-debit bank account information is listed among the items.
QWhat caused it?
The company gives the cause as unauthorized access by a third party, but has not disclosed details such as the route. It says the cause and the full scope are under investigation. The notice does not say a contractor caused it; staff of contractors appear in the notice as people whose data was affected.
QWhat if I get a contact claiming to be Carsensor or Recruit?
The company warns that suspicious contacts misusing the data may arrive, and asks people not to open emails, text messages or letters or answer calls, not to open links in them, and not to open attachments. Because the company also plans to contact affected people individually, do not use the numbers or URLs in a contact you receive; check by following the guidance from Recruit's notice page, opened yourself.
QMy address may have leaked. What should I watch for?
According to the company, the addresses of people who contacted dealers are in principle only down to the city or municipality, but up to 447,670 records may include a full address down to the street, building and room number. A name and address together are enough to send correctly addressed letters. Even if a letter offers compensation, a refund or a survey, do not write personal data or card numbers on an enclosed form or call the numbers in it; check the guidance on Recruit's notice page.