Security Guides

Frontline Education data breach (school software vendor): SSNs, Medicaid IDs and student IDs impacted — what staff and parents should do

Frontline Education, a US K-12 administration software provider, is notifying people whose data was affected by an August 2026 incident. The company says SSNs, Medicaid IDs and student IDs were among the data impacted, varying by person. What it says, what is unknown, and what to do.

Published 2026-10-30 Updated 2026-10-30 Last verified 2026-10-30 13 min read
On this page

For: staff and former staff of US school districts, parents and guardians of students, and anyone who runs a school or vendor system that holds student data.

This article is based on Frontline Education's own notice and incident information page, the California Attorney General's breach listing, and press reports. It does not cover attack techniques.

Developing: this article will be updated as the organisation publishes more

As of October 30, 2026

Not yet known

  • Number of districts and people affected
  • Which third-party software was involved and how access happened
  • How many students (as opposed to staff) are in the affected data
  • Whether anyone has misused the data
  • A way to check individually whether you are affected

Frontline's notice is dated October 26, 2026 and says the incident has been fully remediated; its incident page says the investigation has concluded. Neither gives a total count. This article reflects both pages as read on October 30, 2026.

What affected people should do today

1

Read your notice and use only the official contacts

Frontline says it is notifying people by email or U.S. Mail, starting on or about October 26, 2026. Its notice lists the TransUnion call center at 1-800-759-7279, 8 a.m. to 8 p.m. ET, Monday to Friday, excluding major U.S. holidays.

BleepingComputer reports that some district administrators first doubted notices sent through a third-party notification provider before others confirmed them. If unsure, open Frontline's own notice page yourself and compare, rather than using a link in the message.

2

Enroll in the free monitoring

Frontline says U.S. adults are offered two years of credit monitoring and identity-theft protection through TransUnion at no cost, and minors are offered cyber monitoring through TransUnion. Its incident page words this as dark-web monitoring for qualified minors where available. Enrollment instructions are in your notice.

Frontline says it and TransUnion will not ask you to pay for these services. Treat any request for payment as a scam.

3

Place a credit freeze

A credit freeze stops lenders from opening new credit in your name. The Federal Trade Commission (FTC) says it is free to place or lift and does not affect your credit score, and you place it with each of Equifax, Experian and TransUnion.

For a child under 16, the FTC says you can request a free freeze, with a different process at each bureau. A freeze matters most here because a Social Security number is among the data elements the company says were impacted (varying by person). See also what to do when ID document data leaks.

4

Treat calls and emails that quote your ID numbers as unproven

The company says Medicaid IDs and student IDs were among the data elements impacted, varying by person. A message that quotes them, or your child's name and school, has not proved it is genuine. Frontline says it will never call or email to request personal or account information.

Do not follow the link. Call your district or your state Medicaid agency using a number from their official website. For the basics, see What is phishing?

5

Watch statements and records, and report misuse

Frontline advises reviewing account statements and credit reports for signs of fraud, and contacting local police if you suspect identity theft. The FTC's IdentityTheft.gov gives a recovery plan.

Because Medicaid IDs were among the data elements impacted for some people, also read any benefit statements for services you did not receive. The IRS offers an Identity Protection PIN to anyone with an SSN who can verify their identity, which helps block someone filing a tax return in your name.

What happened (from Frontline's notice)

Frontline Education posted its Notice of Data Breach dated October 26, 2026, and a separate cybersecurity incident information page. Everything below is as the company states it, unless marked as press reporting.

  1. August 14, 2026

    According to Frontline, its security team identified a vulnerability in a third-party software product it uses. It says the vulnerability allowed unauthorized access to part of its environment starting this day.
  2. August 15

    The last day of unauthorized activity, according to the company.
  3. About October 1–2

    Press reports (BleepingComputer, Infosecurity Magazine) describe notices reaching school-district staff, and a customer notice circulating on Reddit on October 2. Those reports describe Social Security numbers, email addresses and home addresses. BleepingComputer reports that districts could opt out of Frontline handling their notifications by October 16.
  4. October 26

    Notice of Data Breach dated this day. Frontline says it notified affected districts, then began notifying individuals on or about this date. The California Attorney General's list shows a Frontline entry with breach dates of August 14 and 15, and a sample notice file dated October 26.
Aug 14–15
Unauthorized access, per Frontline (Aug 14 identified; Aug 15 last day)
7 types
Data element types the company says were impacted, varying by person
2 products
Frontline Central and School Health Management
Not published
Number of districts and people
What Frontline has disclosed
Company
Frontline Education, a US provider of K-12 administration software
Products
Frontline Central and School Health Management
Data elements impacted, per the company (which apply varies by person)
Social Security number, date of birth, driver's license number, passport number, other government ID, Medicaid ID, student ID
Cause (company's account)
A vulnerability in a third-party software product it uses allowed unauthorized access to part of its environment. The software is not named
Response
Fixed the vulnerability and validated the fix with an independent cybersecurity firm; added security controls and strengthened monitoring; notified law enforcement and affected districts; set up a call center; making required regulatory notifications
Misuse
Frontline says it is not aware of any misuse of the data
Offer
Adults: two years of TransUnion credit monitoring and identity-theft protection. Minors: cyber monitoring (notice); dark-web monitoring where available for qualified minors (incident page)
Substitute notice
Because direct notice was impractical in some cases, a website posting and a press release

What is known and not known

Based on Frontline's October 26 notice and incident page, as read on October 30, 2026. The status column will be updated as follow-ups appear.

ItemWhat the company saysStatus
Dates of unauthorized accessBegan August 14, 2026; last day August 15Confirmed (company)
CauseA vulnerability in a third-party software product it usesConfirmed (company); software not named
ProductsFrontline Central and School Health ManagementConfirmed (company)
Social Security numberListed among the data elements impacted; varies by personConfirmed (company), varies by person
Medicaid ID, student IDListed among the data elements impacted; varies by personConfirmed (company), varies by person
Date of birth, driver's license, passport, other government IDListed among the data elements impacted; varies by personConfirmed (company), varies by person
Email address, home addressNot in the October 26 list; named in press reports of early October district noticesNot stated by the company
Passwords, payment cards, bank accountsNot in the list of itemsNot stated
Number of people and districtsNot publishedNot disclosed
Misuse of the dataCompany is not aware of any misuseNo misuse known (company)
RemediationFixed and validated with an outside firm; investigation concludedConfirmed (company)
Law enforcement and regulatorsLaw enforcement notified; making required regulatory notificationsConfirmed (company)

How to read it: the list grew between early October and October 26

Press reports in early October described employee Social Security numbers, emails and addresses. The October 26 notice lists wider categories, including Medicaid ID and student ID, and offers cyber monitoring to minors. It does not say that every person had every item, and it does not give counts for students or staff.

So treat the list as "these were impacted, but which apply varies by person", and read your own notice for the exact items.

What these items can be used for

None of these items can be changed by the holder the way a password can. The points below are general, not a claim that any of it has happened here.

Why they matter in combination

  • SSN + date of birth + name: can be used to try to open credit or file a tax return in your name
  • Driver's license or passport number: can make an ID-check call or form look genuine
  • Medicaid ID: can be used for medical identity theft, or in calls that pretend to verify benefits
  • Student ID + school: lets a scammer sound like the school to a parent

What limits the damage

  • A credit freeze blocks new credit that needs a credit check
  • An IRS Identity Protection PIN blocks a fraudulent tax return
  • Reading benefit statements exposes medical identity theft early
  • Calling back on a number from the official site defeats caller impersonation

School district

Hands staff and student records to the vendor

↓

Vendor (Frontline Education)

Frontline Central and School Health Management hold the records

↓

A third-party software product the vendor uses

Company says a vulnerability here allowed access to part of the vendor's environment

Where the data sat, as described in the company's notice. How access happened has not been published.

For school districts and organizations that hold student data

Frontline says the cause was a vulnerability in a third-party product it uses. What stands out is the chain: a district hands data to a vendor, and the vendor relies on another vendor. The points below are general, not a finding about Frontline.

1

List which vendors hold which identifiers

Build a table of every service that holds student or staff identifiers: vendor, product, which items (SSN, Medicaid ID, student ID, date of birth) and why. Start with vendors that hold SSNs or health IDs, and ask whether each item is really needed. An item that is not stored cannot be exposed.

2

Ask vendors in advance who tells whom, and when

Frontline's notice says it notified districts first, and press reports describe an option for districts to opt out of the vendor handling their notifications by a set date. Decide in contracts who notifies individuals, who files with regulators, and within how many days you must be told, before an incident happens.

3

Ask what the vendor does about its own suppliers

A vulnerability in a supplier's software is described as the way into the vendor's environment. Ask vendors how they track and patch the third-party software they run, and how quickly. For a framework, see Security baseline for organizations.

4

Prepare a message for parents and staff before it is needed

Because the impacted data includes children's identifiers, have text ready that says what the district knows, which official contacts are real, and that the district will not ask for ID numbers by phone. A clear message reduces the chance that follow-on scams succeed.

Sources (public record)

The facts in this article come from the public sources below. Counts from individual districts are not added together.

  • Frontline Education, "Notice of Data Breach" (dated October 26, 2026) — frontlineeducation.com
  • Frontline Education, "Cybersecurity Incident Information" — frontlineeducation.com
  • California Attorney General, data breach list, entry for Frontline Education (breach dates August 14 and 15, 2026; sample notice file dated October 26, 2026) — oag.ca.gov
  • BleepingComputer, "Frontline Education data breach impacts school district employees" (October 2, 2026) — bleepingcomputer.com
  • Infosecurity Magazine, "Frontline Education Breach Impacts K-12 School District Staff" (October 5, 2026) — infosecurity-magazine.com
  • GovTech (Eagle-Tribune), "Frontline Education data breach impacts school employees" (October 16, 2026) — govtech.com
  • Federal Trade Commission, "Credit Freezes and Fraud Alerts" — consumer.ftc.gov / IdentityTheft.gov
  • Internal Revenue Service, "Get an Identity Protection PIN (IP PIN)" — irs.gov

Update history

2026-10-30: First version, based on Frontline's Notice of Data Breach dated October 26, its incident information page, the California Attorney General listing, and press reports from October 2 to 16. Frontline has not published a total count; this article will be updated when it or a regulator does.

Latest breaking reports

All breaking reports →

FAQ

QWhat data was involved in the Frontline Education breach?
A

According to Frontline's Notice of Data Breach dated October 26, 2026, the company says these data elements were impacted, and which apply varies by individual: a Social Security number, date of birth, driver's license number, passport number, other government ID, Medicaid ID and student ID. Frontline's incident information page says each notice lists the categories involved for that person. Press reports from early October, based on district notices, described Social Security numbers, email addresses and home addresses of district employees.

QAm I affected?
A

Frontline says the affected data is associated with its Frontline Central and School Health Management products, and it is notifying people by email or U.S. Mail where available, starting on or about October 26, 2026. If your school district uses either product, watch for the notice from Frontline. The notice says you may also receive an email from TransUnion on Frontline's behalf about enrolling in its services. Frontline has not published a lookup tool or a list of districts, so ask your district if you are unsure.

QHow many people and districts were affected?
A

Frontline has not published a total. Individual districts have reported their own figures in local news and notices, and these cannot be added together. Treat any nationwide figure you see as unverified until Frontline or a regulator publishes one.

QWhat caused the breach?
A

Frontline says its security team identified a vulnerability in a third-party software product it uses, and that it allowed unauthorized access to part of its environment. It has not named the software or described how the access happened. It says it fixed the vulnerability with an independent cybersecurity firm and notified law enforcement.

QIs free credit monitoring offered?
A

Frontline says U.S. adults are offered two years of credit monitoring and identity-theft protection through TransUnion at no cost, and minors are offered cyber monitoring through TransUnion (the notice's wording; its incident page says qualified minors are offered dark-web monitoring where available). Enrollment instructions are in the notice you receive. Frontline says neither it nor TransUnion will ask you to pay for these services.

QWhat should I do if someone calls or emails using my child's student ID or Medicaid ID?
A

Do not give anything back, and do not follow links. These identifiers are among the data elements the company says were impacted (varying by person), so a caller who quotes them has proven nothing. Frontline says it will never call or email to ask for personal or account information. Contact your school district or Medicaid agency using a number from their own official website.