Security Guides

Orkes Conductor CVE-2026-58138: unauthenticated OS command execution, with attack attempts observed (update to 3.30.2 or later)

CVE-2026-58138 lets anyone run OS commands on Conductor 3.21.21 to 3.30.1 without logging in. A security vendor blocked 6,696 attempts in a week. Fix, checks.

Published 2026-10-31 Updated 2026-10-31 Last verified 2026-10-31 8 min read
On this page

For: teams that run Conductor (conductor-oss, also called Orkes Conductor) on their own servers or containers, including for AI agent workflows. This page is based on the CVE record, NVD, the project's release notes, CISA's KEV catalog and a security vendor's alert; it contains no attack steps or exploit code.

Developing: this page will be updated as more is published

Who is affected

teams that run Conductor (conductor-oss, also called Orkes Conductor) on their own servers or containers, including for AI agent workflows.

Confirmed so farSee the table ↓
  • Affected and fixed versions
  • No authentication needed
  • Attack attempts in the wild
Not yet confirmed
  • Whether any attack attempt has led to a confirmed compromise
  • A security advisory or statement from the project or Orkes
  • Whether Orkes' hosted or enterprise offering is affected
2 more
  • NVD's own analysis (status: Deferred)
  • Whether CISA adds it to the KEV catalog
What to do nowSee the steps ↓
  1. Find your Conductor servers and their versions
  2. Update to 3.30.2 or later
  3. Keep the workflow API off the internet
1 more
  1. If an affected version was reachable, check it as possibly compromised
Where to verify (source)All sources ↓
NVD, CVE-2026-58138
Last checked
As of October 31, 2026 (JST)
Follow-up plans and what we checked

The CVE record and the fixed release are public. The security vendor's figures are from September. We checked NVD, the GitHub releases, the project's security advisories and CISA's KEV feed on October 31.

What to do today

1

Find your Conductor servers and their versions

Look for the Conductor server in your container images, Helm charts, Compose files and build files, and note the version tag. Affected: 3.21.21 up to but not including 3.30.2. Do not forget test, staging and proof-of-concept servers set up for AI agent work.

2

Update to 3.30.2 or later

3.30.2 contains the fix. The latest stable release on October 31 is 3.33.0 (October 26). If you cannot update today, take the server off the internet until you can.

3

Keep the workflow API off the internet

The security vendor advises restricting exposure of the workflow API. Put the server on a private network, allow only the systems that need it, and require authentication in front of it (for example a reverse proxy or API gateway). An update fixes this flaw; restricting access also limits the next one.

4

If an affected version was reachable, check it as possibly compromised

Attack attempts were counted in early September, and public exploit code was published in August, according to the vendor. In general terms (our suggestion): look for workflow definitions that nobody on your team created, unexpected processes started by the Conductor server, unusual outbound connections, and new files or scheduled jobs on the host.

Rotate the credentials the server can read, such as database, queue and API keys for AI providers. If you find anything you cannot explain, rebuild the host from a clean image rather than cleaning it in place.

What was disclosed

Conductor unauthenticated command execution (CVE-2026-58138)
Product
Conductor, an open-source workflow engine for applications and AI agents (conductor-oss/conductor; "Orkes Conductor" in the CVE record)
Type
Code injection (CWE-94). The JavaScript and Python script evaluators were not sandboxed, so expressions in a submitted workflow definition could reach the operating system
Authentication
Not required (CVE record)
Severity
CVSS v3.1 9.8, CVSS v4.0 9.3 (scores from the CVE numbering authority, a security vendor)
Affected
3.21.21 up to but not including 3.30.2
Fixed
3.30.2 (released June 3, 2026)
Exploitation
A network security vendor reports blocked attack attempts (1,290 in 24 hours; 6,696 in seven days, September 2026). No confirmed compromise published
NVD / KEV
NVD status Deferred (last modified October 25). Not in CISA's KEV catalog on October 31
9.8
CVSS v3.1 (no authentication needed)
6,696
Attack attempts blocked in seven days (security vendor, September)
3.30.2
First fixed release (June 3)
Not listed
CISA KEV catalog, October 31

1. Find versions

3.21.21 to 3.30.1 are affected

2. Update and restrict

3.30.2 or later; API on a private network

3. Review exposed servers

Unknown workflows, processes, connections; rotate keys

Order of work today

Timeline

  1. May 22, 2026

    A change titled "Restrict graaljs further" (restricting the JavaScript engine) is merged into the project.
  2. June 3

    Release 3.30.2 ships with that change. The notes do not mention a security fix or CVE.
  3. June 30

    CVE-2026-58138 is published, with 3.30.2 as the fixed version.
  4. August 9

    Public exploit code is published, according to the security vendor's alert.
  5. September 9

    The security vendor reports 1,290 blocked attack attempts in 24 hours (a 132% daily increase) and 6,696 in seven days.
  6. September 15

    The vendor publishes an outbreak alert advising an update to 3.30.2 or later. A security news site later reports the count as nearly 7,000 attempts in a week.
  7. October 31

    Not in CISA's KEV catalog; NVD status Deferred.

What is known and not known

ItemWhat the sources sayStatus
Affected and fixed versions3.21.21 to before 3.30.2; fixed in 3.30.2Confirmed (CVE record)
No authentication neededStated in the CVE recordConfirmed (CVE record)
Attack attempts in the wildBlocked attempts counted by a security vendorConfirmed (security vendor)
Successful compromisesNone published in the sources we checkedNot stated
Advisory or statement from the project or OrkesNone found on GitHub; release notes onlyNot stated
Orkes' hosted or enterprise offeringNot covered by the CVE recordNot stated
CISA KEVNot listed as of October 31Not stated
NVD analysisStatus DeferredNot stated

Why this one is easy to miss

Three things combine here. The fix shipped without a security label, so teams that track only advisories had nothing to act on. The CVE then went into NVD's Deferred queue and has no KEV entry, so dashboards that rank by those signals rank it low. And a workflow engine set up for an AI agent project can sit outside the usual patch inventory.

This is the same lesson as the Metabase breaches: an internal tool that holds many credentials, reachable from the internet, exploited without logging in. If your vulnerability triage depends on KEV, add exploitation reports from the developer or security vendors as a trigger too (see how to decide which CVEs to fix first).

Sources

Checked on October 31, 2026 (JST).

  • NVD, CVE-2026-58138 — nvd.nist.gov
  • conductor-oss/conductor, release v3.30.2 (June 3, 2026) — github.com
  • CVE numbering authority's advisory (a security vendor) — vulncheck.com
  • Security vendor's threat signal report (September 9, 2026) — fortiguard.com
  • Security vendor's outbreak alert (September 15, 2026) — fortiguard.com
  • CISA, Known Exploited Vulnerabilities Catalog (checked October 31; not listed) — cisa.gov
  • Security news report (September 22, 2026) — esecurityplanet.com

Update history

2026-10-31: First version, based on NVD, the project's release notes, CISA's KEV catalog and a security vendor's alert.

Latest breaking reports

All breaking reports →

FAQ

QWhat is CVE-2026-58138?
A

A flaw in Conductor (conductor-oss, called Orkes Conductor in the CVE record). Per the CVE record, in versions 3.21.21 up to but not including 3.30.2 a remote attacker can execute operating system commands without authentication by submitting a workflow definition containing JavaScript or Python expressions to the workflow API. It is rated CVSS 9.8 (v3.1) and 9.3 (v4.0).

QWhich versions are affected, and which are fixed?
A

Affected: 3.21.21 up to but not including 3.30.2 (that is, through 3.30.1). Fixed: 3.30.2, released on June 3, 2026. The latest stable release on October 31 is 3.33.0 (October 26).

QIs it being exploited?
A

A network security vendor reported in September 2026 that its intrusion prevention service blocked 1,290 attack attempts in 24 hours and 6,696 in seven days, and said public exploit code is available. These counts are blocked attempts. No confirmed compromise has been published in the sources we checked.

QIs it in CISA's KEV catalog?
A

Not as of October 31, 2026 (catalog version 2026.10.30). NVD's record still carries a CISA coordinator assessment from July 1 that lists exploitation as none, which predates the vendor's September report.

QWhy did nobody notice the fix?
A

The 3.30.2 release notes describe the change only as restricting the JavaScript engine further, with no CVE or security label. The CVE was published four weeks later. We found no separate security advisory from the project on GitHub. Anyone who only watched for security advisories could have missed it.

QDoes it affect Orkes' hosted service?
A

The CVE record covers the open-source conductor-oss/conductor code. We found no statement from Orkes about its hosted or enterprise offering. If you use it, ask Orkes directly.