Security Guides

Photon Health data breach (analytics-tool flaw): names, addresses, phone numbers, dates of birth and prescription information — what affected patients should do

Photon Health, an e-prescribing platform, notified people that names, addresses, phone numbers, dates of birth and prescription information were taken via its analytics tool. What leaked, what did not, and what to do today.

Published 2026-10-31 Updated 2026-10-31 Last verified 2026-10-31 11 min read
On this page

For: people who received a notice letter from Photon Health or Blueberry Pediatrics, and anyone who runs a self-hosted analytics tool. This article is based on Photon Health's notice, the Oregon attorney general's breach list and Blueberry Pediatrics' sample consumer letter, and does not cover attack techniques.

Developing: this article will be updated as the organisation publishes more

As of October 31, 2026

Not yet known

  • Total number of people affected at Photon Health
  • How the incident relates to other organisations' notices
  • Whether the company publishes more detail on the investigation

Photon Health published its notice on October 8, 2026 and has not said how many people are affected. Blueberry Pediatrics' count (340,915) comes from its report to the Oregon attorney general and is a separate company's figure.

What affected people should do today

1

Do not act on calls, texts or emails about a prescription, refund or insurance claim

The items combine your name, address, phone number and date of birth with medication information. That is enough for a caller to sound credible.

If someone contacts you about a "prescription problem", a "refund", a "pharmacy account" or an insurance claim, hang up and call back on a number you find yourself, such as the one on your insurance card or your pharmacy's website. See What is phishing? for the pattern.

2

Never give a Social Security number, card number or one-time code to someone who contacted you

Photon says Social Security numbers and financial information were not affected. A caller who asks for them anyway is not following any step Photon has described.

3

Use the credit monitoring offer only through your letter

Photon says it is offering complimentary credit monitoring and identity theft protection for 12 to 24 months. The enrollment steps are in the notification letter; the web notice does not repeat them. Do not enroll through a link in an unexpected email or text.

4

Check your insurer's statements for services you did not receive

If your health plan details were among the items (they are listed in Blueberry Pediatrics' letter, not in Photon's notice), read the explanation-of-benefits statements for charges you do not recognize and tell your insurer.

5

Ask the company only through the number in its notice

Photon's notice gives a phone line: 1-844-772-5746, 8:00 a.m. to 8:00 p.m. ET, Monday to Friday, excluding holidays. Use the contact details in the notice or letter, not ones given in a message you received.

What happened (from the notices)

Everything below is as stated in Photon Health's notice of October 8, 2026, unless another source is named.

  1. Aug 21, 2026

    Photon Health says it became aware of the incident.
  2. Sep 4

    Photon says its review of the impacted data was completed.
  3. Oct 8

    Photon published its notice and is notifying people whose information may have been involved.
Not disclosed
People affected at Photon Health
5 items
Name, address, phone, date of birth, prescription medication information
Not affected
Social Security number, financial information (per Photon)
None found
Evidence of misuse (per Photon)
What Photon Health says (notice of Oct 8, 2026)
Who
People whose information may have been involved; the number is not stated
Items
Name, address, phone number, date of birth, prescription medication information; varies by person
Not affected
Social Security numbers and financial information, which the company says it does not collect or store
Cause (company's account)
An unauthorized third party exploited a previously unknown vulnerability in the analytics tool (Metabase), which Photon runs on its own infrastructure for business intelligence, product metrics and customer dashboards
Misuse
No evidence of misuse or attempted misuse of the affected information
Response
Cybersecurity specialists engaged to investigate, contain and remediate; the company says its analytics-tool environment is secure and it is reviewing its technical safeguards
Support
12 to 24 months of complimentary credit monitoring and identity theft protection; phone line 1-844-772-5746

A related disclosure: Blueberry Pediatrics (340,915 listed)

The Oregon attorney general's breach list shows a report from Blueberry Pediatrics dated October 10, 2026, showing 340,915 under “Number Affected” (the page says these are the figures at initial filing), a breach period of August 10 to August 22, 2026, a date of discovery of August 26 and notices sent on October 9. The list does not break out the Oregon count. The template notice gives August 22 as the discovery date, so the two sources differ. Blueberry's notices go to parents and guardians, because the patients are children.

Blueberry's sample consumer letter (filed with the California attorney general; the template uses the name Blueberry Medical) says a criminal exploited a vulnerability at Metabase, one of its technology providers, and stole a copy of some patient data. It lists name, health plan name and policy number, date of birth, and health care information such as medical records, dates of service, medical codes and charges for services. It says Social Security numbers and payment information were not included, and that photos and videos sent for diagnosis are stored separately and were not compromised.

This is a different company's count. Do not add it to Photon's, which has not been disclosed.

The California attorney general's breach list also has an entry for Photon Health giving August 10, 2026 as the breach date. That date differs from the August 21 date in Photon's notice, which is when the company says it became aware. This article uses the dates as each source states them.

What we know and do not know

As of October 31, 2026. This table will be rewritten when more is published.

ItemWhat was announcedStatus
Unauthorized access to a Photon analytics toolExploitation of a previously unknown vulnerability in the analytics toolConfirmed (company)
Items involvedName, address, phone number, date of birth, prescription medication informationConfirmed (company)
Social Security number, financial informationNot collected or stored by the companyExcluded (company)
Misuse of the dataNo evidence of misuse or attempted misuseNo evidence (company)
People affected at PhotonNot stated in the noticeNot disclosed
Date the company became awareAugust 21, 2026 (the California list shows a breach date of August 10)Confirmed (company); dates differ by source
Blueberry Pediatrics people affected340,915 (Oregon attorney general list)Confirmed (separate company)
Passwords, health plan details at PhotonNot listed in Photon's noticeNot stated
Connection between the Photon and Blueberry noticesNot mentioned in the two documents checkedNot stated

What the combination of items can be used for

Names, addresses, phone numbers and dates of birth are available in many past breaches. What is unusual here is prescription medication information alongside them, which makes a scam call about a drug, a refill or an insurance claim sound real. This is what generally happens with this kind of data; it is not a statement that it has happened in this case.

Name + phone number + medication

↓

Convincing calls about a refill or insurance claim

→ Hang up; call a number you look up

Name + address + date of birth

↓

Fake letters, texts or emails using your details

→ Do not follow links; check on the official site

Combinations of the items and the matching step

Not affected, per Photon

  • Social Security number
  • Financial information

May have been involved (varies by person)

  • Name and address
  • Phone number
  • Date of birth
  • Prescription medication information

How to read it: 'no evidence of misuse' is not 'safe from now on'

Photon says it has no evidence of misuse or attempted misuse. Dates of birth do not change, so the data can be used in messages months or years later. Treat contacts that use this incident as a reason to reach you with care.

For those who run analytics tools

Photon says the tool was one it runs itself, for reports and customer dashboards, and that a previously unknown vulnerability was exploited. This section covers only what the disclosed facts support. Details of the flaw are in this site's alert on CVE-2026-72898, and other organizations affected by the same product are in the article on the Metabase vulnerability breaches.

1

List the data your analytics tool can read

Such a tool is usually connected to production databases. What it can read is what can leak if it is compromised. In Photon's case, items such as medication information were reachable from a reporting tool. Check which tables and columns the tool actually needs for analysis, and cut the rest.

2

Know which of your tools are run by you and which by a vendor

Photon describes the tool as self-hosted, which means updates and exposure are the operator's job. Keep a list of the self-hosted tools you run and a way to hear about their security fixes (background: osv-scanner).

3

Plan for the time between the incident and the notice

By the company's account, about seven weeks passed between becoming aware (August 21) and the notice (October 8). Decide in advance who reviews affected data and who signs off on notices, so that review is not the bottleneck.

Sources (public record)

The facts in this article come from the public sources below. Undisclosed causes and counts are not speculated on.

  • Photon Health, Notice of Data Security Incident (October 8, 2026) — PR Newswire
  • California Attorney General, data breach report for Photon Health — oag.ca.gov
  • Oregon Department of Justice, data breach notices list (Blueberry Pediatrics, reported October 10, 2026) — justice.oregon.gov
  • Blueberry Pediatrics (Blueberry Medical), template consumer notice filed with the California attorney general — oag.ca.gov (PDF)

Update history

2026-10-31: First version, based on Photon Health's notice of October 8 and the regulator listings above. Photon has not disclosed a count; this article will be updated if it does.

Latest breaking reports

All breaking reports →

FAQ

QWhat leaked in the Photon Health breach?
A

According to Photon Health's notice of October 8, 2026, the information that may have been involved is name, address, phone number, date of birth and prescription medication information. Photon says what was involved varies by person and that not everyone had every item involved.

QWhat did not leak?
A

Photon says Social Security numbers and financial information were not affected because it does not collect or store them. It also says it has no evidence of misuse or attempted misuse of the affected information.

QAm I affected?
A

Photon says it is notifying people whose information may have been involved, by letter. This site's explanation: Photon is an e-prescribing platform used by other providers, so people may be affected without knowing the name. If you got a letter, you are on the list; the notice gives a phone line for questions (1-844-772-5746, 8:00 a.m. to 8:00 p.m. ET, Monday to Friday). Photon has not said how many people are affected.

QDo I need a new password or card?
A

Neither passwords nor payment card details are listed among the items. The notice says Photon is offering complimentary credit monitoring and identity theft protection for 12 to 24 months; the details are in the letter, so use the enrollment steps there and not a link from an unexpected message.

QWhat caused the breach?
A

Photon says an unauthorized third party exploited a previously unknown vulnerability in the analytics tool (Metabase), which Photon uses on a self-hosted basis for business intelligence, product metrics and customer dashboards. Photon says it engaged cybersecurity specialists and has confirmed its analytics-tool environment is secure. How the access worked in detail has not been published.

QI also got a letter from Blueberry Pediatrics. Is that the same breach?
A

Blueberry Pediatrics reported its own breach to the Oregon attorney general, with 340,915 under “Number Affected” on the Oregon DOJ list, and its letter also refers to a vulnerability in Metabase. Both notices refer to a vulnerability in Metabase, but neither says it is the same flaw, and the two notices we checked do not mention each other. Treat them as separate notices and follow each one.