For: customers of NTT Docomo who use the Docomo Online Shop or My docomo, and staff who manage Docomo corporate contracts. This article is an explanation based on the company's official notices; it does not cover attack methods.
Developing: this article will be updated as the organisation publishes more
- Who is affected
customers of NTT Docomo who use the Docomo Online Shop or My docomo, and staff who manage Docomo corporate contracts.
- Confirmed so farSee the table ↓
- Unauthorized access confirmed and procedures stopped
- Name, date of birth, age
- Address, contact phone number, email address
9 more
- ID document number
- Mobile phone number, contract start date
- Rate plan, options, discounts
- Legal representative or procedure agent: name, contact
- Workplace or company name, address
- Financial institution, branch, account number, account holder
- Childcare support programme information
- Count
- Cause
- Not yet confirmed
- Cause (route of entry)
- Final scope and count of leaked information
- When the emergency maintenance will end
2 more
- How and when individual notices will be sent
- Which ID document types the numbers come from
- What to do nowSee the steps ↓
- Find out whether you are affected
- Do not respond to messages claiming to be from Docomo or related parties
- If an ID document number leaked, prepare for fraudulent contracts
3 more
- If bank details leaked, check your statements
- Tell the administrator of a corporate contract, and your family
- If you paid money or entered details, get help immediately
- Where to verify (source)All sources ↓
- NTT Docomo, notice on the emergency maintenance of Docomo Online Shop and My docomo and on the leak of customer information through unauthorized access to its servers (third report, as of 6:00 p.m. on November 6, 2026; Japanese)
- Last checked
- As of November 7, 2026
Follow-up plans and what we checked
In its third report of November 6, the company said no new leak has been confirmed and that it continues to investigate the cause and route of the unauthorized access and the scope and count of the leaked information. It says the recovery time of the emergency maintenance is "undecided". When we checked the official notices on November 7, 2026, we found no fourth report.
What Docomo customers should do today
Find out whether you are affected
In its second report of November 5 the company said it would promptly notify affected customers once the details of the leaked information are known. As of the third report, the method and timing of individual notices are not stated.
First check Docomo's official notices for the latest status. The third report lists a special hotline (0120-451-360, 9:00 a.m. to 8:00 p.m., in Japan). Use contacts listed on the official site rather than numbers or links in messages you received.
Do not respond to messages claiming to be from Docomo or related parties
The company says suspicious emails, SMS messages and calls posing as Docomo or related parties may reach customers using the leaked information. It asks people not to open URLs in the message, not to open attachments, and not to enter or answer with personal information, passwords or credit card details.
Because name, address, contact details, contract details and an ID document number are said to have leaked, a caller who quotes them correctly proves nothing. If you are asked for a PIN, password or verification code for a "procedure" or "account check", do not answer and hang up. How to spot these is covered in What is phishing?
If an ID document number leaked, prepare for fraudulent contracts
An ID document number is included for all affected customers. The notice does not say which document (a driver's licence, for example), and it does not say that images of documents leaked.
In general, a name, address and date of birth plus a document number can be used for applications that pose as you. As a precaution, consider a self-declaration to the credit bureaus (CIC, JICC and the Japanese Bankers Association's credit centre) and disclose your own credit record to check for contracts you do not recognise. Costs and steps are in What to do when your driver's licence data leaks.
If bank details leaked, check your statements
For some customers the company says the financial institution, branch, account number and account holder name leaked. An account number and name are also what you give someone to receive a transfer, and in general they alone do not let anyone withdraw money (our view). Withdrawals and transfers need the cash card and PIN, or internet-banking login details and verification codes.
Watch for contact that uses your account details as a hook while posing as a bank, Docomo or the police. The Japanese Bankers Association says it never asks customers for PINs or passwords. Check your passbook or app for deposits and withdrawals you do not recognise, and contact your bank at once if you find any. We found no official guidance telling people to replace an account only because the number leaked.
Tell the administrator of a corporate contract, and your family
For some customers the company says the workplace or company name and address, and the name and contact details of a legal representative or procedure agent, leaked. If your company holds Docomo contracts, tell the person in charge and the staff who use the lines to be wary of suspicious contact posing as Docomo.
If you manage a contract for a minor or an older relative, share this article with them too.
If you paid money or entered details, get help immediately
If you sent money in response to a suspicious message, or entered account or card details, contact your bank or card company first.
You can also call the police advice line (#9110) or the Consumer Hotline (188) in Japan. If you typed a password into a fake page, change it at once, and change it elsewhere if you reuse it (How to choose a password manager).
What happened (from Docomo's notices)
NTT Docomo posted notices on its official site on November 5 and 6, 2026. Everything below is the company's own account.
November 4 (Wed)
The company confirmed unauthorized access from outside to the Docomo Online Shop and My docomo.November 5 (Thu), about 1:05 a.m.
It stopped procedures on both services and began emergency maintenance. All access is cut off.November 5, morning (as of 9:00 a.m.)
First notice. The cause was under investigation; the company judged it likely that the server was accessed from outside without authorization. It said urgent procedures may be possible in shops.November 5, as of 6:30 p.m. (second report)
The company confirmed that some customer information leaked through unauthorized access before the emergency maintenance, up to about 300,000 records. No new leak has been confirmed.November 6, as of 6:00 p.m. (third report)
The list of leaked information and the cause were updated. The cause is unauthorized access from outside. A special hotline was added as a contact.
- All customers
- Name, date of birth, age; address, contact phone number, email address and similar contact details; ID document number; mobile phone number, contract start date and similar contract information; rate plan, options, discounts
- Some customers
- Name and contact details of a legal representative or procedure agent; workplace or company name and address; financial institution, branch, account number, account holder name; information on a childcare support programme
- Count
- Up to about 300,000 records
- Cause
- Unauthorized access from outside (route under investigation)
- Current status
- Emergency maintenance continues. No new leak confirmed. Recovery time undecided
- Contact
- Special hotline 0120-451-360 (9:00 a.m. to 8:00 p.m.). Up to the second report, the Docomo Information Center was listed (151 from a Docomo mobile, 0120-800-000 from other phones)
What is known and what is not
Based on the company's announcements as of November 7, 2026 (through the third report of November 6). We will update the status column as follow-ups appear.
| Item | What the company says | Status |
|---|---|---|
| Unauthorized access confirmed and procedures stopped | Confirmed November 4; procedures stopped from about 1:05 a.m. on November 5 | Confirmed (company) |
| Name, date of birth, age | In the company's "all customers" group | Leak confirmed (company) |
| Address, contact phone number, email address | In the company's "all customers" group | Leak confirmed (company) |
| ID document number | In the company's "all customers" group; the document type is not stated | Leak confirmed (company) |
| Mobile phone number, contract start date | In the company's "all customers" group | Leak confirmed (company) |
| Rate plan, options, discounts | In the company's "all customers" group | Leak confirmed (company) |
| Legal representative or procedure agent: name, contact | In the company's "some customers" group | Leak confirmed (company) |
| Workplace or company name, address | In the company's "some customers" group | Leak confirmed (company) |
| Financial institution, branch, account number, account holder | In the company's "some customers" group | Leak confirmed (company) |
| Childcare support programme information | In the company's "some customers" group | Leak confirmed (company) |
| Credit card information | Not in the third report's list | Not stated |
| Passwords and PINs | Not in the third report's list | Not stated |
| Images of ID documents | Not in the third report's list | Not stated |
| Count | Up to about 300,000 (unit is "records"; relation to people or lines is not stated) | Confirmed (company; upper figure) |
| Exact scope and count | Under investigation | Under investigation |
| Cause | Unauthorized access from outside | Confirmed (company) |
| Route of entry | Under investigation | Under investigation |
| New leaks | Not confirmed | Not confirmed (company) |
| Misuse | Not stated; the company says suspicious messages using the leaked information may arrive | Not stated |
| Recovery of the emergency maintenance | Undecided | Under investigation |
| Individual notices | Second report says affected customers will be told promptly once details are known | Under investigation |
A figure in the press that is not in the official notices
CNET Japan (distributed via Yahoo! News Japan) reports that at a press conference on November 6 the company put the leak at up to 294,839 lines. This figure does not appear in the company's official notices and we have not confirmed it, so it is not in the table. How it relates to the official "up to about 300,000" is not shown in the official notices.
What an ID document number and contract details can be used for
When contract details leak, the worry is less a stolen password than convincing contact and impersonation. Below is what can generally happen when the same combination of data leaks. It is general, not a statement that it happened in this case.
Name + address + phone number + contract details
↓→
Convincing calls, SMS or email that quote your contract
→ Do not open links; do not give PINs or passwords
Name + address + date of birth + ID document number
↓→
Applications or enquiries that pose as you (fraudulent contracts)
→ Self-declaration to credit bureaus and disclosure
Name + account number and holder (some customers)
↓→
Contact about an "account check" or a "refund"
→ Check statements; never give PINs or verification codes
What leaked data can lead to
- Calls, SMS or email that quote your contract or address to look genuine
- Contact that asks for a PIN or password under the name of a "procedure" or "check"
- Applications that use your name, address, date of birth and document number
What the leaked data alone cannot do
- Withdraw money using only an account number and holder name
- Prove your identity with document images (a leak of images is not mentioned in the notices)
- Use passwords or card details that the notices do not list (not stated as leaked)
A message that gets details right is not proof it is genuine. The company warns that suspicious emails, SMS messages and calls may arrive, and asks people not to open URLs or to enter or answer with information.
Sources (public record)
The facts in this article are based on the public information below. We have not speculated about details of the cause or the breakdown of the count, which have not been disclosed.
- NTT Docomo, notice on the emergency maintenance of Docomo Online Shop and My docomo and on the leak of customer information through unauthorized access to its servers (third report, as of 6:00 p.m. on November 6, 2026; Japanese) — docomo.ne.jp
- NTT Docomo, the same notice (second report, as of 6:30 p.m. on November 5, 2026; Japanese) — docomo.ne.jp
- NTT Docomo, apology and notice on the emergency maintenance of Docomo Online Shop and My docomo (as of 9:00 a.m. on November 5, 2026; Japanese) — docomo.ne.jp
- NTT Docomo, notices index (Japanese) — docomo.ne.jp
- Japanese Bankers Association, warning about fake sites (Japanese) — zenginkyo.or.jp
- CNET Japan, report on the November 6 press conference (distributed via Yahoo! News Japan; Japanese). It includes a figure that is not in the official notices, so the article treats it as unconfirmed — news.yahoo.co.jp
Update history
2026-11-07: First version, based on NTT Docomo's third report of November 6 (which updated the leaked items and the cause). We checked the official notices the same day and found no fourth report.
Read next
- If an ID number leaked: What to do when your driver's licence data leaks
- Another case where ID document numbers and bank details may have leaked: the Lashinbang breach
- Another case involving identity documents: the Times Car breach
- Follow-on scams: What is phishing? / Fake virus warnings (tech-support scams)
- Other 2026 incidents: list of breaches and cyberattacks (Japan and worldwide)